The time has come

the walrus said, to talk of many things. Of shoes and ships and sealing wax, and cabbages and kings.

It’s time my friends. To say good bye to this space. After giving it much thought, I am taking an indefinite break.  I will likely leave this blog up for the time being, because I still haven’t decided how best to preserve it.  I have many memories on here that I don’t want to lose forever.  Maybe I’ll change my mind and decide to start up again.  But quite honestly, this just feels as if it has run its course.  I am unendingly grateful for those of you who have commented and stuck around all these years (I know! years! can you believe it?).   Blogging is fun, but getting to know you all were what really made it worthwhile.

I expect that when school is over I will have more time to read, and I don’t plan to stop commenting, so maybe you’ll see me that way.  I don’t take many photos any more, but I’m guessing that will change with time and the newbie arriving next year, so you can find me on flickr.  And of course there is still the evil facebook.  Some of you already know me from there.  If you don’t, but would like to find me just send me an email: dutch_girl76 at yahoo dot com.

Good luck, and I’ll see you when I see you…

5 Responses to “The time has come”


  1. 1 Tressa November 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    You know, I just decided this very same thing. It ran its course for me as well. I am very excited for you. Would love to catch up with you on Facebook. Unfortunately, (or fortunately) I was never able to break THAT addiction. Best wishes!

  2. 2 yosm November 14, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I’m so sorry to see you stop… I love reading, not only about your life, but your perspective on it.. I’ll miss it.

  3. 3 Karen November 14, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I’m sorry to see you go too. I’ve always loved your writing and unique (and lovely) way of viewing things. Many, many good wishes to your and your family.

  4. 4 loquita November 16, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    You are a more conscientious blogger than I — a few weeks ago I just decided “done” and changed my blog to private.

    But I still find that I have some thoughts / observations / ideas to explore that have no home to live in… so I may start up something new just for that.

    However I don’t anticipate having friendships develop like they did the first time around. I’m not sure what it is about the blogosphere these days, but it just has a different vibe now. There is a “showiness” rather than just honesty and searching for answers to the tough questions in life.

    Anyway, sorry to ramble. Just wanted to say “I get it” and “I’m right there with you”.

  5. 5 Liz December 30, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Good luck to you! I completely understand….


Comments are currently closed.



Subscribe in Bloglines

The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto

Music stacked up on my piano at the moment

Partita 5 in G Major (Bach)

Dance in Bulgarian Rhythm No. 6 (Bartok)

Sonatine II movt de menuet (Ravel)

Nocturne in B-flat Major (Szymanowska)

Sonata Op. 24 "Spring" (Beethoven)

Flickr







More Photos

Copyright

This feels presumptuous to me, but it is a big internet these days. Please do not take my words or images without my permission. Feel free to link all you like, but if you would like to reproduce them in any way, please ask.

Email Me

d u t c h _ g i r l 7 6 @ y a h o o . c o m
Military Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

